Food

TOP FIVE VEGAN ALTERNATIVES

For my first post, I thought I’d write about something close to home – that being vegan food! I’ve been vegan since 2016 started (I was vegetarian for 4 years prior) and it was the best thing I have ever done. The only problem is, I wish there was more things online that helped me find more vegan ”meat” alternatives. Sure, there was quite a few blog posts around this topic, but they were not very informative! I’m going to list my go to vegan meat substitutes that are to die for, but of course the animals didn’t!

  1. Fry’s Chicken Nuggets.

download

These delights are incredible! Honestly, I swear by them. They taste similar (if not better) than the Quorn Chicken Nuggets. I say better purely because these have such a similar texture to meat that the Quorn nuggets didn’t quite have. My dad is obsessed with these too and he is a meat eater. This is a great mock meat for someone who loves their chicken nuggets but do not want the cruelty. I tend to buy these from Holland & Barrett for around £3 a box and the box lasts me at least 3 meals I’d say.

2. Linda McCartney Sausage Rolls

maxresdefault

I found these way before I attempted to transition to veganism and I had no idea they were vegan when I had them. The sausage in these guys is so ‘juicy’ similar to other frozen sausage rolls that are not vegan which is incredible! I have these literally every week at least because they are my faveee. They are even more nicer if you put soy milk over the top as it gives the pastry some sort of crunch. You can get these anywhere in the vegetarian section of supermarkets.

3. Fry’s Steak Pie

download (1)

I had one of these today and I always forget how beautiful they are. They taste so similar to Asda’s own steak pies that I used to have when I was little for family meals which is probably why I think they are so nice. Every time I cook these, the smell radiates throughout the whole house and my father tends to come in (like he does with every meal I cook) and compliments me on how good it smells. I buy these from Holland and Barrett too, I don’t really know anywhere else that sells the Fry’s vegan range.

4. Quorn Hot and Spicy Burgers.

vegan-spicy-chicken-quorn

Quorn recently brought out a vegan range (granted there is only two things available in the UK at the moment) and let me tell you, they are delicious! I have yet to try the chicken pieces that they have on sale so I cannot comment on those but these burgers are yummy. I have ate all 4 on numerous occasions with zero shame. These are only available in some Asda’s at the moment because they are new but once they are in your local store you should definitely try them out !

5. Fry’s Beef Burger

download (2)

These were one of the first things I had when I first became vegan this year. Granted, they do not look 100% like Quorn pull off but they taste so much better! I fried these the first time I made them and personally, that’s the best way to cook them but obviously it’s up to you! Again, these are sold in Holland and Barrett, I don’t know where else this brand is sold so if you know please inform me. These burgers taste so much like the real thing which is rare, because beef mock products don’t always taste the best – it’s normally chicken products that are a hit, with me anyway.

These are my top five vegan mock meat alternatives (or whatever you want to call them hahaha). Please let me know if you have any other products that are great, I’d love to try out new things.

exit

 

2 thoughts on “TOP FIVE VEGAN ALTERNATIVES

Leave a Reply

