positivity

How to Be a Better You

Hi!!! I haven’t wrote or posted a lovely little positivity blog post in a long ass time!!! I’m sorry about that, I really am. But here we go, another positivity post coming ur way.

This one is about how to be a better you, which is something I’ve needed lately. Now, I’m not telling you to change yourself. God no. Just lil tips on how to be the best possible you ever!

1. Appreciate what you already have.
A very important one – which is why it is first! You must be able to look around you and recognise all the good that you have in your life. People spend so much time sulking over what they don’t have instead of focusing on what they already do have. We need to stop constantly focusing on the things we don’t have and the things we want, and see what we do have. Even if there are things that you want/need, you still have stuff that many people would dream of every touching once. Now, I’m not saying never strive to get new things that will make you happier, because that’s not what I’m getting at. All I’m saying is if you only ever cry over what you don’t have – you are never going to be happy.

2. Love yourself.
Easier said than done, I know. I cannot possibly tell you how to love yourself. Believe me, if I knew, I’d tell the world for sure! We all struggle and have bad days when we would do anything to change our appearance and erase all of our flaws. But try loving yourself. Step by step. It will take a while. There’s no definite way or how-to to do this but find out what makes you happy and do it A BLOODY LOT. Once you love yourself, even the tiniest bit, you won’t need anyone’s approval. Once you learn how to be content with yourself, you will live in peace.

3. Understand your self worth.
Understand how much you are worth and never compromise. I can assure you, you are worth a lot. So many people struggle with their self-worth and what they truly deserve. “We accept the love that we think we deserve” as the wonderful Stephen Chbosky says. We compromise our wants and needs, when in fact, we should be fighting for better. You should never give up who you are and what deep down you know you deserve for and from someone else. If someone isn’t fulfilling your wants and needs to keep you happy, even if you are head over heels in love with that person, they aren’t right for you. In order to be the best version of yourself, you must recognise your value, and fight to it.

4. Actually follow these steps!
I can’t stress this enough. It’s easy to read this blog post and agree and say ‘yeah this girl has a point’ but it’s even harder to follow them. But believe me, it’s worth it. I follow them every single day and it’s a challenge but that doesn’t mean I won’t stop. Yeah, there are some days where I give up with it, but that’s because everyone has down days. When I feel better, I step right back on that mission to become a better me 🙂

Sophie xx

2 thoughts on “How to Be a Better You

  1. Its like you were reading my mind, Sophie! I have recently started jotting down some of the ways we can show gratitude, mainly to help my younger cousin who is recovering from a bad phase of her life:) Now I am gonna read this out to her….. Thank you..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

