Food · seasonal

Blogmas Day 4 ~ Gingerbread Cookies.

HI!! Please get ready for a lot of baking type blog posts this month because, well I’ve planned a lot lmao.
Well, today’s blog post is about gingerbread cookies. I apologise for the halloween themed cutters, my local supermarket lacked any form of christmassy cutters at the time of me doing this recipe – which was mid November! Shocking

INGREDIENTS-
– 125g dairy-free margarine (unsalted butter)
100g dark muscovado sugar
4 tbsp golden syrup
325g plain flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
2tsp ground ginger (I recommend using 3-4 tsp)

RECIPE-

1 Preheat the oven to gas mark 4 (170 degrees) and line baking trays with baking paper.

2 Melt the butter, sugar and syrup in a medium saucepan, stirring occasionally, then remove from the heat.

3 Sieve the flour, bicarbonate of soda and ginger into a bowl and stir the melted ingredients into the dry ingredients to make a stiff dough.

4 Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and roll to a thickness of about 5mm. Dip biscuit cutters into flour before cutting the dough.

5 Place the shapes onto the lined baking trays and bake, in batches, for 9-10 minutes until light golden brown. (In my oven, it took around 7 and a half minutes)

6 Allow to cool completely before icing – and then go crazy and let your imagination run wild with the icing. I draw smiley face, traced the outline of the biscuit etc etc. But I’m no avid artist so I’m sure you can do a lot better than I did lol

Sophie xx

3 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 4 ~ Gingerbread Cookies.

Leave a Reply

