Food · seasonal

Blogmas Day 7 ~ A Hearty Broth

Okay, I’m doing a lot of cooking themed blog posts this blogmas I KNOW but I made this the other day and honestly it was the best thing I ever tasted. It’s vegan and yummy. The total came to around £2.50 (without the nutritional yeast) and it fed around 5 people so that’s really cheap! Who said veganism was expensive again?

You will need:
– 8 potatoes
– 2 carrots
– half an onion
half a tin of chickpeas
half a tin of peas
half a tin of kidney beans
vegetarian gravy granules
quarter tin of sweet corn
vegan nutritional yeast (optional as I only used this to sprinkle on top of mine, no one else used it)

RECIPE:

  1. First of all, I peeled and then chopped up all the potatoes. I personally like big chunkie potatoes in my broth so that’s how I did it, but obviously how you like it is how you like it.

     

  2. Then, I popped these into an already boiled saucepan of water. Whilst these were cooking, I decided to prepare my veggies. Again, I chopped my carrots fairly chunkie and my onion very fine because the onion isn’t the main part of the meal! Then I mixed together the half tins of all my beans and peas.
  3. I then popped my carrots into another saucepan full of water because these are the veggies that take the longest to cook, after the potatoes. Following this, I boiled the kettle to prepare the gravy. For the gravy I used 6 table spoons of gravy granules (A LOT I KNOW!! but I was preparing a big meal) and poured in a lot of water, making sure the gravy itself was thick. Then I drained the potatoes and poured the gravy in and then the onion 🙂

     

  4. After pouring in the gravy, I gave it a lil bit of a stir because it was thick. Then, popping in the beans and peas mixture I made earlier. And then the carrots.

     

  5. At this point, I had to dish out half of the mixture into another saucepan because I made too much. But yeah, I just allowed it to simmer for around 10 minutes, stirring occasionally so it didn’t sit and stick.
  6. Then I dished it out to eat 🙂 I added the nutritional yeast at this point to my own dish, just for an extra nutty flavour 🙂

And that’s it!! Lemme know how it goes if you happen to try it out. I always think broth is such a nice meal to cook for winter time because of how warm it is. You can always make it in bulk and have it for the following days after – which is always great.

christmas exit

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook |Bloglovin|Snapchat : s.ophieharris

 

 

One thought on “Blogmas Day 7 ~ A Hearty Broth

Leave a Reply

