education · Food

Selfish Benefits of Going Vegan!

HIYA! I know being vegan is a completely selfless thing to do, but I thought I’d talk about the benefits of going vegan that benefit our body itself. Now, I’m not saying everyone will benefit because everyone’s body is different but ya know, some of these you may come across if you happen to change your diet (and lifestyle) to veganism. These are a couple things I have experienced since I have been vegan.

  1. Clear skin.
    I know!! A shock. But I can honestly say, my skin has been clear since being vegan. Granted, I get the acne around my period which every person with a vagina gets but apart from that, I don’t. Acne or blemishes normally are due to the build up of toxins in your body, typically from your body being unable to digest food. Your body finds it really hard to digest foods such as dairy and meat, which is why if you eat a lotta them, you get acne. Obviously, you also get acne from eating oil enriched foods etc and obviously, if you eat vegan and a lot of oil your skin may not necessarily be entirely clear.
  2. Self love.
    Now, I’m not saying if you become vegan you will stop hating your body and self. Because that’s not the case at all. What I’m getting at is because you are educating yourself about what you put into your body, you are taking care of yourself. The fact you are taking the time to educate your mind, means you must have some element of care for yourself. Before I was vegan, I didn’t give a crap about what happened to my body and I’m not saying veganism cured that – because I’m not 100% in love with myself like I need to be – but I’m taking care of myself, and I truly care about what goes in my body on the daily basis. A lot of other vegans I’ve spoken to, say the same thing.
  3. It saves you money.
    I know what you are thinking – veganism??? cheap???? No way!!! But actually, veganism is the cheapest diet out there. Fruits and veg are super cheap in my local Tesco. Potatoes, mushrooms etc, you can pick up for a couple pence each. Chickpeas, kidney beans, rice, pasta etc are amongst the cheapest foods in the world. They are actually what makes up most of my diet. There’s no need to buy all those fancy pancy vegan mock meats. I mean sure, if you can afford them, go for it! But I eat those like once a week max. There’s no need for them, you can buy so much more tasty food for cheaper.
  4. Healthy weight
    Note how I didn’t say thin or skinny or whatever. Every persons healthy weight is different. Being vegan helps you find your body’s healthy weight because you are eating enough to be satisfied. I’ve been vegan for over a year now and I have a lot of chub, but my weight hasn’t been going up and down since I made this change. Before I was vegan, I could lose a couple pounds one month and gain more the following. There is still vegan junk foods so if you eat a crap load of food, you clearly will gain weight. But, if you eat enough to be full and happy, then our weight will probably not fluctuate.

Well, there you go! Please comment below if you have any doubts or worries and I’ll get back to you!

Sophie xxx

Leave a Reply

