positivity

My two cents on 13 Reasons Why

Trigger warnings for rape, suicide, self harm. 

I watched this Netflix show a couple weeks ago, in fact the week after it came out, and I thought I’d give my two cents on the whole thing. There may be spoilers up ahead so read with caution.

Overall, it was an alright show. Good message. Good story line. Very interesting. I loved the idea of the whole thing as it wasn’t too cliche. I don’t think I’ve ever watched a show just like this one.

I just don’t really think it needed to be as graphic as it was. Yes I get the idea that they wanted the viewers to feel what Hannah Baker felt but really? Did we need to actually see Hannah Baker commit suicide the way we did? Did we REALLY need to see e x a c t l y what she did that night? I don’t think so.

And yes, I know they had trigger warnings before the episodes sometimes whenever something like this was shown but they were not good enough. It’s not good enough for a show that is showing actually what happened in so much depth. I can’t even remember the scene that well because I looked away for the actual part where she cut herself but I remember the sound it made. THE SOUND.

Also, where was the sufficient trigger warnings for the rape scenes? In all fairness I knew they were coming and did prepare myself but I know many of my friends did not. Did it really have to show it as explicit as it was? I don’t think you would understand what I mean until you watch it but it’s so realistic and vivid. Most of the scenes that were flashbacks were very upsetting too.

Even the mental health professionals that 13rw spoke to before making the show told them not to be so graphic because it could be upsetting for everyone watching (including people who are mentally ill) but they just ignored them…

I really think it could have been a pretty show if they didn’t; romanticise everything shown, be so graphic and not give detailed enough trigger warnings so we would actually know what was going to happen.

I know some people are also going to say, “why did you bother watching it? you knew what it was about? you KNEW you would get triggered?” Well actually no. I didn’t think it would have been that bad. I knew it was going to have suicide and depression themes running through it as that was common sense but everything else?? As well, why can’t I watch it? It’s a television show highlighting something similar to MY struggles so of course I’d want to watch it?! Similarly, I think this was the case for everyone.

I’m still sticking to my point that it didn’t need to be as graphic to prove to everyone that bullying is wrong. A ton of shows have highlighted this type of thing and they didn’t go anywhere as vivid as 13 Reasons Why did. I’m still sticking to my point that it wasn’t at all necessary.

But feel free to watch it if you think you’d be okay. I wouldn’t recommend if you are struggling already.

exit

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook |Bloglovin|Snapchat : s.ophieharris

Leave a Reply

