education · positivity

My Dream Job

My dream job?

When thrown the question “what do you want to do with your life?” I shudder, alike many students. It’s not the fact I’m terrified for the future because whilst I am, I’m not scared to work. It’s more the fact I have no idea what I want to do – again, like many students.

I’ve toyed with the idea of teaching, psychology, law etc but nothing seems to stick. Everything seems like a job that I would get bored of after a few short years, or weeks. Teaching – I don’t really like children so I’d be unaware of what part of teaching I’d want to partake it. Primary school teaching is a no. High school is scary. College and university require expert knowledge, which I will never have. Psychology – This requires me to actually study psychology which I dropped out of after a year of studying at college. Law – I’d imagine is too stressful for me, a easily stressed person.

After weighing up the pros and mostly cons of every one of my options, I’m stuck at that deadend again, of not knowing what I want to do.

I studied business studies at a-level so there is that. But I am against captialism so the idea of contributing to something that I hate, baffles me.

There’s classics and history. That seems like something I’d love to enter, which is why I’m doing ancient history at university. A combination of the two. I’m 90% sure that this study will bring me closer into the field in which I’ll hopefully love and will enjoy my career.

Ever since I was a child, I’ve always enjoyed watching documentaries of history with my dad and watching movies related to Greek mythology. ANNNND studying classical civilisation at a-level helped me further that passion. I learnt about; Alexander the Great and his campaign, the Persian Wars, the Trojan war and women and sexuality of ancient Greece and Rome. It was all so interesting and I have hopefully chosen the right topic for me here.

There’s always going to be the fear of me losing interest in this topic, as my BPD always forces this upon me. But, the chances are fairly slim because I have stuck by this passion for quite a while now during my eighteen, almost ninteen years.

I’m still unaware with what I want to do afterwards but I have three years to decide that and if I still don’t know, I could always further my education in some way to understand completely what I want to do.

exit

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook |Bloglovin|Snapchat : s.ophieharris

Leave a Reply

