health

My Relationship with Alcohol.

Hi all! I’ve been seeing this type of blog post circulate all blogging platforms and I’ve also seen so many Youtube vids about this sorta topic so I thought I’d give my two cents on the whole thing.

Now let’s just get things straight. I do not condone underage drinking – although I am eighteen years old now, I was not when some of the stories take place. Also, I do not wish for anyone to use alcohol to solve problems or at least attempt to.

I’m not much of a drinker. In fact, I’m not much of a person who goes out in general. But when I do go out, it’s like on very special occasions. I’m not the type of person who goes on weekly trips to the pub, that’s what I mean! (Not that there is anything wrong with that)

I’ve noticed I drink so much more to fit in more so than actually wanting to drink. Everyone else is drinking so why don’t I want to? I know full well I’ll prefer to sit in my room and dance to music with friends than go to a pub and getΒ out of my face drunk. I don’t believe my friends would be interested in seeing me if I didn’t want to get drunk with them.

I also have a fear of drunk people when I, myself, am not drunk. I’m unsure where this stemmed from but I simply cannot be around drunk people when I am stone cold sober. It just won’t happen. So I personally think these reasons are the few reasons I do get drunk when I happen to go out.

I also have noticed that whenever I have a relapse with my depression, I tend to want to get drunk so much more. As I’ve previously said I don’t really care for alcohol but when I’m sad or lonely or having a down period, I’m more prone to doing so. I like to think it gets rid of my problems although, I do know that that isn’t want happens. So it’s just not healthy in this sense.

I’m unsure where I’m going with this blog post as I just seem to be rambling about my reasons for drinking alcohol… BUT I know I’m kinda not dependant on the whole thing. Only in my down episodes, which gratefully are not that frequent as of late.

I just know full well that if you ever see me at a bar or a pub, you’ll see me drinking a soft drink more than a double vodka and coke.

Sophie xx

 

Leave a Reply

