education

what i’m anxious about

Hiya! Before I start this post, I would just like to say thank you so so much for 300 followers. Honestly. Wow. I’m sure it was only a little under two weeks ago that I said thank you for 200! This means so so much to me and I’m going to think of a great way to say thank you even more.

If you follow me on my Twitter, you would have seen me tweet about this.

As you all know, I am in my final year of college and just finished my exams. If all goes as planned with my exam results, I will be moving from my tiny town outside of Birmingham to the huge city that is Manchester to study at ancient history at university.

And that scares me.

It’s not the fact I’m going to university to study a degree that may benefit my adult life that scares me, it’s the fact I am moving away from home. Not living away from home.

M O V I N G.

I don’t know why moving scares me so much. I was talking to my brother about how after results day I’m going to have to start packing up my room and as soon as I said that, all I could think of was shit shit shit shit shit shit shit.

Why am I so scared of moving? Maybe it’s because I’ve never moved in my life and I’ve stayed in the exact same house for all of my almost nineteen years of life? I’m unsure but I’m still scared nonetheless.

The thing is, I know full well that once I do move, I’ll be fine. I think it is just the moving itself that is worrying. I’ve never done it before and I have never lived outside of my small town. It’s incredibly scary.

And now I hear you say to yourself, “Sophie why are you moving if it’s making you anxious?” Ah, that’s simply because I don’t want it to make me feel anxious anymore. I could have easily have applied to university within Birmingham but no, I wanted to come out of my comfort zone which will hopefully benefit me.

My dream job is to work somewhere where ancient history is present and that may require moving far away from Birmingham. Now, this could be simply (this is so far as it is!!!!) London to work at the Natural History Museum or I could move abroad to a place such as Rome or Athens that are my favourite classical history places (???).

I personally think that if I take university as an opportunity to move away and test myself, I may be able to do it in the very near future when I don’t really have the choice to do so. It’ll be scary but I think it will truly benefit me in years to come.

Please let me know below if you have any advice for me for moving out for the first time!

Here’s a throwback?! This is a post I did roughly a year ago to this day. Click here.

Thank you for reading my kinda ramble of a post haha,

exit

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook |Bloglovin|Snapchat : s.ophieharris

40 thoughts on “what i’m anxious about

  1. You should be super proud that you’re willing to take yourself out of your comfort zone! Manchester is a beautiful city too! I’m super close to birmingham but it still feels like a different place, you’ll have the best time at uni ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Feeling anxious about moving away may actually be a good sign to prepare you for university life and beyond if you ever want to work abroad. Its normal to feel anxious at this time but i think you should stay positive and be well prepared beforehand so moving out, arriving there and settling in will go smoother and less anxious x

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hello. My daughter moved away to a different town for uni last year, and she absolutely loved it. She was anxious about it but she found it easy to make friends by joining groups and she’s a footballer so she joined a team which helped, so if there’s anything like that you could do? I believe veganism is quite big in universities so there’s probably groups to join. We made sure she set aside a little money to make sure she could come home for some visits and she FaceTimes us a lot. My younger daughter is off this year, she’s more anxious than her sister and a little quieter but she’s already joined FB groups with people also starting there and people in her flat. We’ve been working out her budget for the year so that won’t be a worry for her. The most important thing I think is to get out there and be yourself, believe in yourself. Because you CAN DO THIS. It’s really rave to move to a new place so just by making that decision you’ve been super brave. Also speaking personally, keep blogging about your anxieties, it’s so cathartic and a brilliant way to find support.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I know deep down that I am definitely going to go and that it will be an awesome experience but I think just getting myself to do it will be a little difficult. But like you said, I’ve already made the decision so I’m kinda half way there. Thank you again, hearing about your daughters being successful with moving fills me with more confidence!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You go for it.. It’s so so so brave of you to make this step and if you don’t like it come home, no problems. Only do what you want to do and make the most of it! Hope all goes well X

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey Sophie, you are about to embark on an adventure. For moving out of the cocoon that is home is nothing short of one. You will be nervous but embrace it because soon there will be exhilaration at figuring out life on your own. I moved out of home when I was 18 and my mother was all cut up about it. But how it helped me grow up! 🙂 So all the best and chin up. xx

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Congratulations on 300 followers! Honestly uni is a great experience, a lot of my friends could have gone to Birmingham uni and stayed in our area but instead they went literally hours away and said it’s the best thing they’ve ever done, my best friend is at Plymouth Uni right now which is about 4 hours away and she loves it. Once you’ve settled in you’ll be fine, it’s just the initial thought of doing something SO new that will make you feel nervous, but look forward to the journey! Embrace your new chapter .xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you lovely! And that’s what I was thinking, I bet once I’m there I’ll never want to return home haha. But same, I could’ve easily have gone to any of the universities in Birmingham but I knew that would have been the easier option for me and I want to test myself haha. Thank you again xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Congratulations on 300+ followers! I know you’ll do excellent moving and once you’re settled in, that anxiety will melt away. I just moved from my family home of 20 years into my first apartment with my boyfriend of almost 2 years. I had to find a job out here and take all my things from their comfortable places in my parents’ house- it was stressful, I’m not gonna lie or sugar coat it. Now that we’re here and unpacked, settled in and working…it’s the best decision I’ve ever made and being here is wonderful! I wish you the best of luck and all the happiness xoxo

    Liked by 2 people

  8. What I was actually thinking to myself: ‘Sophie, you will love living by yourself once you get into the groove.’ It also reminded me of that great quote, do the things that scare and excite you! Amazing times ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Of course you are anxious- but I also think you are excites! Wait until you spread your wins Sophie it will be amazing! I have been living on my own for a year now and love it! I’m currently sat at 2am on the sofa blogging in just my t shirt and knickers I couldn’t do that at home! Amy Belle

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hey girl! Just reading about this got me so excited because I was in this exact spot a couple months back! Though for me, I was going to Sydney for an internship for 4 months but it was still a huge change because it was a completely different country and I’d never even been to Australia before. But let me tell You this, You will LOVE the change. The initial anxiety will be replaced by excited butterflies. Why? Because You are off on an amazing journey (aaahh so excited for you hehe) ❤ The first step out of the comfort zone is always the hardest but You've already conquered it by applying to a university outside of home. My dad would always say this "If You ever feel comfortable where You are, it means You've stopped growing." To ease the homesickness, bring along your favorite room staples (fairy lights, candles, table decor…etc). Also, I always bring along moisturizers and lotions (more than necessary) because these scents remind me of home, my loved ones and how they are always going to be rooting for me! Wishing You all the very best, can't wait to hear all Your adventures! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! That’s so exciting omg, how are you finding Australia?! But that quote your Dad says is such a good quote, I may have to try and remember it myself! Thank you so much! xxx

      Like

      1. Australia was amazing, absolutely loved it! I’m actually back home in Singapore now so I’m definitely missing it terribly. Hoping to go back for college!!
        And yessss it’s one of my favorite quotes, just hits ya in a good life-changing way 💜

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Thanks for vising my blog.
    Yes, moving away can be scary (I once moved to China for 2 years) especially if you go alone, but you also get to meet new people and experience different places. Best of luck for your new adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

